Jefferson has a long history of attempting to achieve statehood. With the passage of Six Californias, the State of Jefferson will finally become a reality. Known for its natural beauty and rebellious attitude, the State of Jefferson is destined for success. Counties in Jefferson will include: Modoc, Lassen, Plumas, Butte, Glenn, Colusa, Lake, Mendocino, Humboldt, Trinity, Tehama, Shasta, Del Norte, and Siskiyou.



The comparison states Montana and South Dakota both are relatively low population states with economies largely based on resource industries similar to the counties within the proposed Jefferson. The "high growth" comparison state, South Dakota, has also pursued economic development strategies that has made it competitive for back office operations serving many companies in the US. Counties: Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity. Largest Cities: Redding, Chico, Eureka, Paradise, Arcata.

Jefferson Montana South Dakota
Population 949k 1.0mil 845k
Unemployment Rate 8.3% 4.2% 3.3%
Change in Employment +2.9k +9.5k +3.4k
Poverty Rate 20.7% 15.6% 13.6%
Private Wage &
Salary Jobs
221.6k 344.8k 326.6k
Personal Income
Tax Rate
13.3% 6.9% 0.0%
Corporate Income
Tax Rate
8.84% 6.75% 0.0%
Largest Industry ¹ Retail Trade Retail Trade Retail Trade
¹ Non government and non health